The difference 35 years makes

Hi Mom.
Hi.

What was the first thing you thought when we told you we were trying to get pregnant?
Well… it was kind of like: “they just told me they didn’t want a baby; they wanted a toddler. I hope they’re sure this time.”

We changed our minds. What were you doing when we first told you?
Talking to you on the phone. Looking at your dad going [does best Home Alone impression].

Is that when you found out that we were pregnant or just trying?
Trying.

And when we told you we were pregnant?
Oh boy! Oh boy! Oh boy!

So, we told you before we were supposed to (as Mama K reminds me). Did you tell anyone else?
No, just your father.

That’s not true.
…and the waitress at the Mexican restaurant.

Okay, what is the biggest difference between raising a baby in the 1980’s and now?
*sighs* Cool stuff. We never had Nosefreida. And our bouncy seats were foot operated. We sure didn’t have nanny cams. But babies are still the same.

You know that’s a baby monitor, right?
Yes, I do. Put that down– that I knew that.

What do you think has changed about the environment?
The environment, environment?

No.
In the home, dads are more involved with the younger ones nowadays.

I’ll let Lucie know about that one.
[attempting to change the subject] There’s a store at the mall called Lucy, but they spelled it wrong.

Um, okay. What are your three favorite things about Lucie?
Her face and her expressions.

Is that number one and two or…
It’s together. And her smile.

Wait. Is her smile number two?
I guess.

Focus, please. Can you think of a third thing?
I love her little neck.

That’s a little creepy.
I know, I can’t help it.

Do you have any words of wisdom for Lucie?
What you think is more important than what others think.

Except for her mamas.
Sometimes even your mamas.

What about Grandma?
Grandma loves you.

If you could kidnap Lucie for a week, what would you do?
Take her to Michigan to see her great grandparents and a couple of other people.

Is that because you think she would benefit from meeting them, or because you like showing her off?
I think they would love to see her.

Is that the real answer?
Yes, yes, yes. If I wanted to show her off, I wouldn’t stop there.

What do you think is going to be our biggest challenge of raising a kid in this day and age?
Probably pretty much everyone’s biggest challenge: patience. Think before you speak and think before you act.

Was that your biggest hurdle?
Oh yeah, big time. If I knew then what I knew now…

What was your source of information for raising me?
Family, friends and books. I read Doctor Dobson’s The Strong Willed Child.

I see. Did that help?
To the extent that I knew that other parents had the same problem.

Oh, boy. Did you ever have access to parenting classes or parenting groups?
We had an informal group where we traded babysitting and talked once a month. You and I together did a child development program that was a pre-school for you and a study/observation for me.

Okay… Anything else?
You better put in that I would take Lucie to see her Great Aunt Sheila, too, or I will get into trouble.

One thought on “The difference 35 years makes

Leave a Reply

