How to change a cloth diaper (seven times)

Okay, bring it on. I'm ready for next time.
Okay, bring it on. I’m ready for next time.

Diaper #1: Place diaper under the baby, fold, clasp with Snappi(TM) closure and… wait. Of course Lucie would pee; she just woke up. Duh. My bad, let’s try again.

Diaper #2: Place diaper under the baby, fold, clasp with… oh no. It’s the pffffft noise. Okay, I’ll stand here, hold the diaper and wait for a minute while she finishes.

Diaper #3: I think she’s done. Place diaper under the baby. She’s not done.

Diaper #4: Backup diaper for overflow. Seriously. Maybe one portrait orientation and one landscape.

Diaper #5: Okay then. Place diaper under the baby… and quickly wrap over all possible openings because she’s smiling that evil little smile that means t-r-o-u-b-l-e! Capital T. Call out to Mama K that it’s not funny because she is snickering in the other room, enjoying her toast at a leisurely breakfast pace.

Diaper #6: Oh. My. Gosh. Remind me to take out the trash. Also, I’m silently admiring my mom, who did this, but did not have the luxury of throwing diapers into a bag for Tidee Didee to take away and wash each week. Oops, she peed again.

Diaper #7: Place diaper under the baby, fold, clasp with Snappi(TM) closure, snap diaper cover over diaper and find a secure place for the baby while you strip the changing table linens.

This photo was taken last week, but it was definitely a sign of things to come…

Look out below... (an actual photo taken outside of my office)
Look out below… (an actual photo taken outside of my office)

Leave a Reply

