Concessions of a New Mom

You read that right… these are the things I am learning to accept, little by little, day by day:

1. Timeliness is no longer something I can claim on my brag sheet. Unless I start getting ready an hour early to stock the diaper bag, clothe the baby, change the baby, feed the baby, burp the baby, change the baby, and re-clothe the baby, I will not be where I said I would be at the time I said I was going to be there. Sorry.

The reason why I was late to work this morning.
The reason why I was late to work this morning.
Yep, hard to put this down first thing in the morning.
Yep, hard to put this down.

2. Hygiene is but a distant memory. Have I gone four consecutive days without a shower in the past month? Let’s just say I can neither confirm nor deny. Did I get poo on my arm last night at 2:30 AM and just kind of pull my sleeve over it until the morning? Again, no comment. Don’t even get me started on the perils of breastfeeding– and I’m just the bystander.

3. Housekeeping, Schmousekeeping. Vertical piles are my friends.

Egads, what is that smell?
Egads, what is that smell?

4. Courtesy is of utmost importance, now more than ever. This is the actual card we wrote to our neighbors, complete with a pair of movie tickets: “Dear Apt. 308, we don’t know how sound proof the walls are, but we sincerely appreciate your patience and forgiveness for the din of a crying baby and/or barking dogs. Happy Spring, Cathy + Kate of Apt. 307.”

When you are this cute, who needs decorum?
When you are this cute, who needs decorum?

So that’s about it for now. We cannot be more grateful to all those who have supported us every minute of every day. Kindness and generosity are what makes the world go ’round. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

